The Beggar who was Blind

John 9: 31-34

31 We know that God does not listen to sinners. He listens to the godly person who does his will. 32 Nobody has ever heard of opening the eyes of a man born blind. 33 If this man were not from God, he could do nothing.”

 34 To this they replied, “You were steeped in sin at birth; how dare you lecture us!” And they threw him out.

It amazes me how, even now, people can be so blind. I certainly am in many ways but is it my own fault, or is God permitting me to see only in a limited capacity?

My beliefs are such that God allows and permits evil to fulfill his own ends. Man is not equipped to understand the ways of God. So in a sense, we who live in the world are all blind. However we can ask God to help us see. This passage for example shows, yet again, how God makes himself manifest in the poorest beggar off the street. This man was doubly cursed for he lived both as a destitute beggar and also without any sight. And yet without any training or formal education the man speaks a significant truth to the learned pharisees. He confounded them so much that they eventually began to stop trying to outwit his argument and started to plainly insult him.

That is God’s grace made manifest.

On a personal level I know that God does answer my prayers. I also believe that all power comes from God. So when Pilot lorded his power, the Son of God told him that any power he held, had been given to him from far above (from the Father).

Thus, although I am a sinner, and perhaps the most spiritually bereft one on all the planet (or so it seems to me) I believe that God makes himself manifest in my weakness. That my prayers are answered not for my own glory, but for HIS. Not because I deserve my prayers answered more than any other, but because He glorifies Himself in the poorest of his servants.

If I am pathetic, it is only designed by God to illustrate the sharp contrast between human failing and the power of divine Judgment and intervention.

Jesus is everything, we are nothing.

Posted on November 28, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

